Skip to main content

Education & Curriculum Studies: Publishing Research & Impact

Look to publish for impact

Are you looking for a journal in which to publish your research findings?

See below, a few ways to find a journal that is suitable:

Use Journal Finder - a database of journal statistics to help you make informed decisions aout where to publish your work for maximum impact. It includes impact factors, internal citation data from the University of Sydney, publisher infomation and average article publishing costs. 

Use Web of Science to search your topic then click on the ANALYZE icon to rank the results in order of journal name (source title) to help you identify journals that publish on your topic areas.

You can also use a service on the Web called Jane which analyses your abstract and finds appropriate journal titles for you.

You can search particular titles in the database Journal Citation Reports which will give you a ranking for your journal and show the impact factor.

If you know of a journal and you wish to find out its peer review status, which databases it is indexed in and if it's available online consult the Ulrichs periodical directory


What is Impact Factor?

The Journal impact factor is a measure of the frequency with which the average article in that journal has been cited in a particular year. It is used to measure the importance or rank of a journal by calculating how many times it's articles are cited. Not all journals have an impact factor. Impact factors for journals can be found on a database called Journal Citation Reports; search for the journal title in this database and then compare a journal with other titles in the same discipline to rank the journal. 

The higher the impact factor of a journal, the greater impact the journal (and articles in it) may be inferred to have in a research community. A high impact factor may imply significance and importance to a researcher or research area, or be an indication of the quality of a journal title. It is just one method by which research may be evaluated on a local and international scale.

Research Profiles

Use unique author identifiers to increase research visibility and help you differentiate yourself from other authors with the same or similar names. Take a look at the Library's information on DOIs and Orcid to make sure your research can always be located.

ERA

Developed by the Australia Research Council, ERA is a comprehensive quality evaluation of all research produced in Australian universities against national and international benchmarks. Scopus is the official database for citation analysis for ERA reporting.

Featured Resource

MyRI: An Open Access toolkit to support bibliometrics training and awareness a collaborative project of four Irish academic libraries producing a set of materials to support bibliometrics training.

This tutorial introduces journal ranking, bibliometrics to support your career, research strategy and includes videos, quizzes and other interactive elements.

metrics tools - citation databases

Online Training- self paced tutorials