Skip to main content

Education & Curriculum Studies: Early Childhood Education

About your library for Students in Early Childhood Studies

Fisher Library is your Library, it is the largest of the University of Sydney Libraries, holding collections in the areas of Arts, Humanities, Education, Linguistics, Psychology and Business. Ask at the Fisher Information Desk, or phone them on 9351 2993 for assistance about anything you are having difficulties with; whether it is finding books & eBooks, finding rooms and buildings on campus, accessing items on your reading lists, borrowing and returning items, holds and recalled items, fines, printing/scanning/copying and requesting items from other libraries.

Your student card is your Library card, loans from our collections are for 12 weeks, with up to 4 renewals unless recalled. Items on reading lists are in high demand so may be restricted to 2 hour loan, fines apply for late return of these items. The 2 hour loan collection is next to the Information Desk on level 3 of Fisher. More information on Borrowing items. 

You will find the most useful collections are the Fisher Collection (levels 4-9 of Fisher) and the Curriculum collection on level 5 of FisherThe Curriculum collection contains a vast array of materials you can borrow and take into the classroom; such as teacher guides, lesson planning books, picture books, easy readers, YA fiction, non fiction, textbooks, toys, models and more!

Map of Fisher Library

Fisher and the Law Library are open 24/7 for late night study, student card swipe access is strictly for staff and currently enrolled students. The Fisher Information Desk is staffed 7 days per week during Semester see Information Desk hours.  Alternatively, use our Chat Now  or Ask Us Now services.

Bosch Commons is a study space open 24/7 for all staff and currently enrolled University of Sydney students.

The Quarter is a study space open 24/7 for Postgraduate Coursework (including Master of Teaching) students only.

Your Academic Liaison Librarian is Christine Tennent christine.tennent@sydney.edu.au

Using Library Search

1. Prepare your search 

  • Analyse your topic, identify key terms and synonyms
  • list the keywords/phrases that describe your concepts 
  • if needed, consult a dictionary or thesaurus for synonyms

2. Conduct your Search 

  • type your keyword/s into Library Search to find books, articles, journals and book chapters on your topic.
  • Refine my results using the options on left
  • not finding enough material? click on Expand my results to find items in other libraries 

Early Childhood encyclopedias and dictionaries

APA 6th Style Resources

Streamed Media Resources

Early Childhood Statistics

Weblinks - Early Childhood, International

Featured resource

Best Quick Links

Key Library Databases for Early Childhood Education

Weblinks - Early Childhood, Australia