Skip to main content

Social Work : Media resources & releases

Finding the News!

The news media (newspapers, radio, television and web news) provides access to many of the discussions and debates that surround government policy.  Media research will provide different perspectives on a policy area, from political to popular responses.

Media releases issued by a minister, member of parliament or a government department or agency provide access to information about government policy.They are published, and online sources will help you locate information released to the media. They also supplement Hansards (Parliamentary debates) by providing texts of important speeches made outside parliament.

 

News Databases

News coverage of a public or social policy issue may provide access to some of the debates that surrounding the introduction of a new policy or a change in a specific area. Political and statements and opionions may also be covered in news articles and programs, news databases will allow you to quickly access this information.    

  

Sydney Morning Herald May 25th 1938

Social issues from Australian Policy online

Loading

Media sources from Government websites

Parlinfo search (Federal Parliament)

Parlinfo is the official search service for the Australian Parliament. Parlinfo allows you to limit a search to Media sources including Press Releases Newspaper Clippings and Radio and TV. Access to the full news clipping service is not available for copyright reasons.  

Australian Government Websites

Media releases by Portfolio

Australian Government. News & Media website

Australia. House of Representatives. House news

New South Wales Government  latest news and Premier's Media Releases and Ministers' Media Releases

 

Capital Monitor database

Login to Capital Monitor (for University of Sydney staff and students only)

Most documents available in the Capitol Monitor database are full-text. Capital monitor is updated daily.

Media Releases in Capital Monitor - coverage varies but usually from 1996 onward

Commonwealth Parliament & Government -Press releases, transcripts, statements, from the Government, departments and agencies, the Opposition, minor parties, companies and special interest groups,

NSW and other States and Territories  transcripts, press statements NSW 1996- other states 1997, Northern Territory 2001 -

Download Tips for Current and Recent Media releases

Historical media releases in the Library's Storage Collection

For historical research purposes, not current.