Skip to main content

Social Work : Finding Books & Encyclopedias

Researching in the discipline of Social Work

Social work research is often complex. You are required to understand and access a range of different sources. These include books, academic journal articles (published research), research reports from community organisations and government departments, parliamentary sources, legal information as well as social statistics and news media sources. 

Explore the information on this page and use the navigation pane on the left of this page to view a range of other resources available from the University of Sydney Library.

Make a start by defining your terms, consult encyclopedias and books on your topic

Orient yourself to the literature by using specialist dictionaries & encyclopedias for social work:

Specialist Dictionaries

Sage dictionary of social research methods by Jupp (2006)

A dictionary of social work and social care - Oxford Online access by Harris (2018 2nd ed.)

Dictionary of social work - Online access by Pierson (2010)

General Dictionaries

Macquarie Dictionary - Online access

Oxford English Dictionary - Online access 

 

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Social Work from Oxford University Press (for more encyclopedias see box at bottom of page)

Books and other resources on your topic can be found by searching your key words using Library Search 

Login using your Unikey when using Library Search to access results that are only available to Sydney staff and students.

When using Library Search to find books: type in your key words or phrase, select  Material type: Books, choose a relevant item from the results and look at the subject field of the record for links to more books on the topic. To request items from other libraries use  Request from.. (from the menu bar) 

Find more books and government reports on your topic by searching Libraries Australia. Libraries Australia is the joint catalogue of state, university and government libraries that underpins Trove.

More Encyclopedias and Specialist Social Work Resources

Social Work Librarian

For general library enquiries about opening hours, locating resources on the shelves, copying and scanning and booking study rooms in the library please ask at the Information Desk in Fisher or contact us by phone on 9351 2993 or 9351 2994. We also have a Chat Now and an Ask Us Now service. For research enquiries or for appointments please email Christine Tennent, Academic Liaison Librarian for Social Work. christine.tennent@sydney.edu.au

Featured book

Quick Links

Finding Australian Government Reports

The Library has a helpful Guide to Finding Australian Government Reports.

Google can also be useful when searching for government documents, do an advanced search in Google and limit domain to .gov.au and file type PDF

Keeping up-to-date with APO

APO RSS Feed below..

Loading ...