Skip to main content

Social Work : Finding Books & Encyclopedias

Researching in the discipline of Social Work

Social work research is often complex. You are required to understand and access a range of different sources. These include books, academic journal articles (published research), research reports from community organisations and government departments, parliamentary sources, legal information as well as social statistics and news media sources. 

Use the navigation pane on the left of this page to view the range of resources available from the University of Sydney Library.

Make a start by defining your terms and look for encyclopedias and books on your topic

Orient yourself to the literature by using specialist dictionaries & encyclopedias for social work:

Specialist Dictionaries

General Dictionaries Macquarie Dictionary - Online AccessOxford English Dictionary -Online Access

Encyclopedia of Social Work from Oxford University Press (for more encyclopedias see box at bottom of page)

Books and other resources on your topic can be found by searching your key words the Library Catalogue.

Start with a keyword search, look at the subject field of the catalogue record for links to more books on the topic. If the book you want is not held or is on loan try Bonus+ (see quick links box to the right for more information about Bonus+). 

Find more books on your topic from Libraries around Australia by searching Libraries Australia.

Use our research plan to organise and plan your research

More Encyclopedias and Specialist Social Work Resources

Quick Links

Social Work Librarian

Christine Tennent
Contact:
Fisher Library
61 2 9351 3257

Keeping up-to-date with APO

Australian Policy Online RSS Feed below..

Loading