Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research - filter by subject, specialised database type, or search by database name or description.

Loading...

Databases status

Known issues with the Library's databases.
(Updated during weekdays 9am-5pm)

 
Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired, or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Your views on trial databases are important - give us your feedback !
Trial
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to collection of peer-reviewed and full-text journals. The combination of academic journals, magazines, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Trial
A vast collection including audio & print. It includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Collections include anthropology, psychology, film makers, LGBT, dance and music, education, current affairs,and history.
Available in 2017
Age (The Age)
Trial
Standard web view | Digital replica of paper
Melbourne's metropolitan newspaper published by Fairfax.
Access to the issues for the previous six months is via the digital replica.
Note: Library access doesn't include features which require login to an individual account. (eg, save articles, access via apps)
Trial
Learn the APA Style rules, how to plan research, write with grace and precision, and find out where to publish.
Available in 2017.
Internet Explorer not recommended. Optimised for Chrome, Firefox, and Safari

Handouts & guides
Trial
Standard web view | Digital replica of paper
Access to the back issues for the previous three years is via the digital replica.
Note: Library access doesn't include features which require login to an individual account. (eg, save articles, access via apps)
Trial
A comprehensive guide to book reviews from thousands of publications, in numerous disciplines.
Scroll down in your results list to use Topic Finder to visually analyse the words in your results
Trial
Aggregation of business & economics journals, indexes and abstracts. Includes many full text scholarly journals. Provides company profiles for the world's 5,000 largest companies.
Trial
Journals covering the arts and social sciences, primarily in French, from major French, Belgian and Swiss academic publishers.
Trial
Company information on 50,000 Australian public and private companies. 10 years of financial history & financial analysis, corporate family trees, director & executive profiles, shareholder information, the latest company news and developments.
Records may be viewed online only, and not downloaded. Access by staff & currently enrolled students only.
User guide
Trial
The archive of the European equivalent of Medline. A major pharmacological, biomedical and drug information database.
Trial
Peer-reviewed teaching cases focusing on business decision making and management development through key emerging markets, and The Case Journal, which features factual teaching cases and case exercises.
Available in 2017
Trial
A comprehensive overview of the languages of China and the different ways in which they are and have been studied. It provides authoritative treatment of all important aspects of the languages spoken in China, today and in the past.
Trial
References to works on German language and literature.
Available in 2017
Trial
Humanities Source Ultimate offers a wide variety of resources, such as feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, book reviews, original works of fiction, reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas and plays that illuminate human thinking, action and interaction.
Trial
One of the most authoritative sources for the study of ancient Greek historians. Jacoby Online is a collection of the works which have been lost, but for which there are citations, extracts or summaries. Entries are in Greek with English translations.
Includes Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker (Fragments of the Greek Historians, FgRH) I-V, and Brill’s New Jacoby 1st & 2nd editions (new English editions of FgrHist I-IIII).
Trial
Fully-searchable English-language newspaper published in Japan since 1897. A pioneer of overseas-focused journalism, it focused on how to report Japanese issues to a non-Japanese audience. Intensive coverage of Japan and East Asia.
Access from 1897 - previous year (loaded 2nd quarter following year)
Available in 2017
Trial
Excellent for international arbitration research. It contains a wealth of commentary from expert authors and an extensive collection of primary source materials, ICC cases and awards.
Available in 2017.
Trial
An international collection of journals on the law and legal topics.
Trial
Lynda.com is an online learning platform that helps you learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. The video library of engaging, top-quality courses is taught by recognised industry experts.
Trial
Internurse is the UK’s largest collection of peer-reviewed nursing content, and home of the British Journal of Nursing. Internurse covers primary and secondary care settings as well as the whole spectrum of specialist nursing practice including cardiology, neuroscience, mental health, palliative care and wound care. Intermid contains all content from the British Journal of Midwifery from 1996 onwards. It also exclusively includes access to its sister title, African Journal of Midwifery and Women’s Health.
Trial
Watch more than 600 streamed performances from the Metropolitan Opera.
Available in 2017
Trial
Evidence-based information on natural medicinal ingredients and brand-name products, an effectiveness checker, and a natural product / drug interaction checker.
Available in 2017
Trial
Includes The New Yorker, Vogue USA, Foreign Policy, Foreign Affairs, and archival access to The Economist, Architectural Digest, Time, Life, Sports Illustrated, among others.
Trial
The world’s leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on major topics in the humanities and social sciences. Each Handbook provides in-depth overviews, and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study.
Trial
Trustworthy, annotated primary texts of classic works for scholars and students. Includes writers active between 1485 and 1901, plus Classical Latin authors
Trial
The place to start for Philosophy. References to scholarly books, journals, and proceedings on all areas of Philosophy.
Search the Philosophy Collection, which combines the Philosopher’s Index with full text journals and dissertations from Proquest's Philosophy Database ( scholarly journals and influential dissertations from 1850 onwards), or the Philosopher's Index alone.
User guide
Trial
Brings together a wealth of interdisciplinary content about the Modernist period, and is the ideal starting point for any research in modernism.
Trial
Session Laws contains the session laws of all 50 U.S. states as well as Canada, Australia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and the D.C. Register. State Statutes includes superseded state statutes for all fifty U.S states from 1717.
Available in 2017
Trial
Over 1,000 prompt books from performances of 34 of Shakespeare's plays, giving insight into their performance from the 17th - 20th century. Prompt books are the annotated texts of plays, marked up with cuts and changes, with cues for music, lighting, movement, and other forms of stage business.
Trial
Sociology Source Ultimate includes many essential titles indexed in leading citation indexes as well as hundreds of scholarly full-text journals cited in leading subject indexes. In addition, extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources is included for well-rounded research.
Trial
Standard web view | Digital replica of print
Sydney's metropolitan newspaper published by Fairfax.
Access to the issues for the previous six months is via the digital replica.
Note: Library access doesn't include features which require login to an individual account. (eg, save articles, access via apps)
Trial
A database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana. TAIR consists of a searchable database, which includes many different datatypes. Data can be viewed using an interactive MapViewer, and analyzed with TAIR tools. Datasets can be downloaded. Arabidopsis lab protocols, are included.
Available in 2017
Trial
Public pharmacopeial standards for chemical and biological drug substances, dosage forms, compounded preparations, excipients, medical devices, and dietary supplements.
Click Submit button when logged in. Do not save the login details in your browser.
Licences for two concurrent users only. Please click Logout when finished to ensure access for all. If site is busy, please try again later.
Recommended browsers: Chrome and Internet Explorer 11 only.
Problems? Check all technical help
Trial
A multi-jurisdictional portal, including cases, legislation, commentary, journals and news.
title
Loading...