Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research - filter by subject, specialised database type, or search by database name or description.

Loading...

Databases status

Known issues with the Library's databases.
(Updated during weekdays 9am-5pm)

 
Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired, or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Your views on trial databases are important - give us your feedback !
New
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers includes more than 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period.
New
19th Century UK Periodicals It provides resource for the study of British life in the 19th century - from art to business, and from children to politics.
New
American Civil Liberties Union Papers gives researchers access to the more than 2 million documents contained in the records of the American Civil Liberties Union at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript library at Princeton University.
New
American Fiction, 1774-1920 encompasses more than 17,500 works of prose fiction written by Americans from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I.
New
Archives of Sexuality and Gender covers subjects such as queer history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, sociology, health, political science, policy studies, human rights, gender studies and more.
New
Archives Unbound is an online resource digitises microfilm collections from Primary Source Media, capturing defining moments in history.
New
The Associated Press Collections Online Archive contains the history of world major events. Includes news coverage, imagery and behind-the-scenes context.
New
Book Review Index Plus includes more than 5 million book reviews, in numerous disciplines, including literature, history, education, psychology, and more.
New
Brazilian-Portuguese History and Culture contains topics on colonialism, the Brazilian independence period, slavery and abolition, the Catholic Church, indigenous peoples, immigration, ecology, agriculture, economic development, medicine and public health, international relations, and Brazilian and Portuguese literature.
New
British Library Newspapers contains comprehensive range of regional and local newspapers in Britain between the mid eighteenth and mid twentieth centuries.
New
British Literary Manuscripts Online provides an intimate look into the lives and works of Britain’s major writers across two hundred years.
New
BSOL provides access to all BS and EN, 90% ISO and 50% IEC standards (as BS ISO/ BS IEC).
New
Comprehensive source for discovering nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. Also included is The Wellesley index to Victorian periodicals, 1824-1900
New
Chatham House Online Archive contains the publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House)
New
China from Empire to Republic is a collection of 17 English-language periodicals published in or about China during a period of over 130 years, extending from 1817 until the founding of the People’s Republic of China in 1949.
New
Crime, Punishment and Popular Culture contains trials transcripts, police and forensic reports, detective novels, newspaper accounts and true crime litarature. Between the period if 1790-1920
New
Provides information on specific diseases, conditions, treatments and drugs pertaining to emergency medicine, cardiology, ancology, paediatrics and more.
New
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library includes examples from over 400 years of books printed in Arabic script as well as translations into European and Asian languages from the period.
New
The weekly magazine which is essential reading for anyone interested in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide.
Also cross-searchable with other historical databases via Gale Primary Sources
Trial
Able to view award-winning short-form, student films and educational audiovisual content relevant to FTV, Media and Communications, Performance and Creative Arts students.
Trial ends 5th July 2018
Database Feedback
New
References to scholarly works on all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Includes antiquities, culture, history, law, language & literature, philosophy, science and society.
New
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) is an encyclopedia of music. It offers articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. MGG Online contains the second print edition of MGG, published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions.
Terms conditions
New
Contains digital page views along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images, and videos.
New
Includes books and monographs, newspapers and periodicals, diaries and personal letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps, sheet music and more.
New
Full-text searchable, image database that provides content on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America.
ProQuest Black Newspapers
New
New
Covers areas of World War I and World War II; Wars and Conflicts; Colonialism, Imperialism and End of Empire; Impact of New Technology and Modernity; Public Health, Conservation and Environmentalism; Social Change; and The Role of Women.
New
Encompassing the arrival of the Europeans on the shores of North America in the late fifteenth century to the first decades of the twentieth century.
New
Digital archive in four series devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America.
New
Contains primary source images and documents directly from the Smithsonian archives and Gale’s leading digital collections.
New
Gathers together 16th- and 17th- century British State Papers and links these historical manuscripts to their fully text-searchable Calendars.
New
Features the newspapers and periodicals, as well as pamphlets and broadsheets, that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian Library in Oxford, UK.
New
The Daily Mail Historical Archive 1896-2004 provides more than 100 years of the Daily Mail newspaper online.
New
A digital collection that covers the full run of the newspaper from its very first issue until the end of 2012.
New
Contains American illustrated weekly magazines of the 1920s-1950s.
New
BBC periodical published from 1929 1991. The online archive consists of the complete 62 years run of the paper, digitised from originals in full colour.
New
Cover nearly every aspect of American and British law and legal traditions of Europe, Latin America, Asia and other jurisdictions, both classic and contemporary.
New
Cover nearly every aspect of American and British law and legal traditions of Europe, Latin America, Asia and other jurisdictions, both classic and contemporary.
New
Cover nearly every aspect of American and British law and legal traditions of Europe, Latin America, Asia and other jurisdictions, both classic and contemporary.
New
Consists content from Picture Post, newspaper published in Britain from 1938-1957.
New
Contains crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years.
New
The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000 is the fully searchable digital archive database. Including issues of the Sunday Telegraph from 1961.
New
U.S. Declassified Documents Online contains materials from the State Department political analyses, White House confidential file materials, National Security Council policy statements, CIA intelligence memoranda, and much more.
New
Contains online collection of records and briefs brought before the nation's highest court.
New
The Wellesley Index identifies the authors of articles within major Victorian periodicals, and provides a bibliography for each contributor.
New
Covers primarily the 19th and 20th centuries women’s history and issues that have affected women, and the many contributions they have made to society.
New
The World Religion Database (WRD) contains statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys.
title
Loading...